APPLE VALLEY FIREFIGHTERS RELIEF ASSOCIATION

7100 West 147th Street



President - Michael Murphy Treasurer - Chris Milbrandt Secretary - Joe Homme 2023 2025 2024

Tru Tru

Trustee - Anh Bostel Trustee - Joel Engel Vice President – Jeffery Melville

Apple Valley, MN. 55124

Statutory Members : Mayor - Clint Hooppaw Fire Chief - Matt Nelson

City Clerk - Pam Gackstetter

MINUTES 2023 ANNUAL MEETING December 02, 2023, 9:00 am Apple Valley Fire Station 1 – Training Room

Call to Order

09:00 am – Quorum established; meeting called to order by Michael Murphy **Roll Call Board Present:** Michael Murphy, Chris Milbrandt, Joseph Homme, Anh Bostel, Joel Engel, Clint Hooppaw, Matt Nelson

Excused: Pam Gackstetter

Total General Membership: 40 active members, 1 retired/board members, 1 deferred/board members, and 1 board members present.

Membership Attendees Attached Following Minutes

Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve agenda by Michael Murphy, Second by Ryan Ring. *Motion carried. 43-0

Focus Financial

1. Went over special fund portfolio for 2023

2. Balance as of November 30, 2023, \$11,603,018

Secretary's Report

1. Went over membership statistics and membership changes since last annual meeting

Treasurer's Report

1. Reviewed 2023 special, general fund, and historical balance by year.

Committees:

1. **Aid**

- a. Fire card was issued
- 2. Service Board
 - a. None
- 3. Banquet February 2024
 - a. 02/24/2024 at Valley Wood in Apple Valley
- 4. FF Memorial
 - a. Updated members on firefighter memorial and all the updates made

5. Public Event/Fundraising

- a. None
- 6. For the Good of the Association
 - a. None

Unfinished Business

1. None

Elections

1. President

a. Michael Murphy

Michael Murphy by acclimation as President

2. Trustee

- a. Lowell Olson
- b. Matt Detjen

Lowell Olson won by majority of member votes

3. Station One Representative

a. Joel Koski

Joel Koski as Station One Representative by acclimation

4. Station Three Representative

a. Matt Moore

Matt Moore as Station Three Representative by acclimation

- Chris Milbrandt left meeting at 9:26 to 9:27 am
- ▶ Paul Dolan, John Hahn, Marisa Holman, and Lowell Olson left meeting at 9:30 9:59 am
- > Paul Dolan, John Hahn, Marisa Holman, and Lowell Olson left meeting at 10:03 am

New Business

1. Proposed Bylaw changes to lump sum payment schedule.

Reviewed 2022 numbers and talked about funding ratio at 102% and reason no increase to lump sum. Went over 2023 funding ratio and actuarial. Question was asked, "When would board recommend benefit increase?" Board members work with the city on what could be approved. This is done by using current actuarial and funding ratio. Mayor Hooppaw talked about the goal to keep funding ratio above 105%. He also stated the goal of \$15,000 increase to lump sum payment in the next few years. City members did state they were ok with 10 year / 100% vesting.

Motion struck from meeting minutes, as motion was beyond the scope of notice in accordance with AVFRA's bylaws.

Motion to approve By-Law change <u>as amended</u> to increase lump sum payment schedule to \$13,000 <u>and 100% vesting at 10 years</u> on January 01, 2024, by Michael Murphy, Second by Eric Purves.
* Motion not considered because motion was beyond the scope of notice in accordance with AVFRA's bylaws.

Amendment to Motion by adding 100% vesting at 10 years, by Rob Morris, Second by Ryan Ring. * Motion not considered because motion was beyond the scope of notice in accordance with AVFRA's bylaws.

Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by Joshua Gaffke, Second by Michael Morales. *Motion carried.

Adjourned at10:09 am

Joe Homme Secretary

<u>#</u>	Last Name	First Name	Status	Attend
1	Bobadilla	Erik	Active	Yes
2	Bostel	Anh	Active	Yes
3	Bostel	Paul	Active	Yes
4	Costa	Demetria	Active	Yes
5	DeMarco Jr	Joseph	Active	Yes
6	DeRaas	Paul	Active	Yes
7	Dolan	Paul	Active	Yes
8	Ehrman	Gabriel	Active	Yes
9	Gaffke	Joshua	Active	Yes
10	Grass	Stephen, Jr	Active	Yes
11	Hahn	John	Active	Yes
12	Holman	Marisa	Active	Yes
13	Homme	Joseph	Active	Yes
14	Johnson	Gerald	Active	Yes
15	Johnson	КЈ	Active	Yes
16	Jones	Nathan	Active	Yes
17	Kabat	John	Active	Yes
18	Keller	Andrew	Active	Yes
19	Korn	Shane	Active	Yes
20	Koski	Joel	Active	Yes
21	Kowalzek	Christopher	Active	Yes
22	Kronberg	Jason	Active	Yes
23	Landru	Joseph	Active	Yes
24	McNulty	Ryan	Active	Yes
25	Milbrandt	Chris	Active	Yes
26	Moore	Matthew	Active	Yes
27	Morales	Michael	Active	Yes
28	Morris	Robert	Active	Yes
29	Murphy	Michael	Active	Yes
30	Neppl	Randal	Active	Yes
31	Olson	Lowell	Active	Yes
32	Peltier	Joshua	Active	Yes
33	Purves	Eric	Active	Yes
34	Ring	Ryan	Active	Yes
35	Robinson	Paul	Active	Yes
36	Russell	Chuck	Active	Yes
37	Schendel	Steven	Active	Yes
38	Sharpe Sr.	Jonathan	Active	Yes
39	Struthers	John	Active	Yes
40	Ward	Angela	Active	Yes

Membership Attendees 12-03-2022 Annual Meeting

Other Members

<u>#</u>	Last Name	First Name	Status	Attend
1	Engel	Joel	Retired / Board Member	Yes
2	Ноорраw	Clint	Board Member	Yes
3	Nelson	Matt	Deferred / Board Member	Yes